Texas Regulatory Information

Texas Health and Human Services (HHS)

The Texas Health and Human Services (HHS) licenses, certifies and surveys home and community support services agencies (HCSSAs) for compliance with state and federal laws and regulations. Through these regulatory activities, HHS protects Texas citizens receiving home health, hospice and personal assistance services. Licensing Standards for Home and Community Support Services Agencies Handbook.

Texas Administrative Code

Texas Family Code

Texas Health and Safety Code

Texas Human Resources Code

Texas Occupations Code

Department of Family and Protective Services (

DFPS has a central place to report abuse, neglect and exploitation. Per licensing standards for HCSSA rule 97.249, If an agency has cause to believe that a client served by the agency has been abused, neglected, or exploited by an agency employee, the agency must report the information immediately (within 24 hours) to DFPS AND DADS at (800) 458-9858.

  • Provider Self-Reporting. Licensed or certified DADS providers must notify the agency if someone in their care has been or may be physically or mentally abused, neglected or exploited.
  • Employee Misconduct Registry. The purpose of the Employee Misconduct Registry is to ensure that unlicensed personnel who commit acts of abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation, or misconduct against residents and consumers are denied employment in DADS-regulated facilities and agencies.

Department of State Health Services (
The Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) service is Medicaid's comprehensive preventive child health service for individuals from birth through 20 years of age. In Texas, EPSDT is known as Texas Health Steps (THSteps), which includes the preventive care components, or Early and Periodic Screening (EPS), of the total EPSDT service. In addition, medically necessary health-care services are provided to children and adolescents enrolled in THSteps even if the service is not available under the state’s Medicaid plan to the rest of the Medicaid population. In Texas, these additional services are available through the Comprehensive Care Program (CCP).

Health & Human Services Commission (HHSC)

Medicaid Health Partnership Provider Page (TMHP)

  • Texas Medicaid Provider Procedural Manual. This manual is a comprehensive guide for Texas Medicaid providers. It contains information about Texas Medicaid fee-for-service benefits, policies, and procedures including medical, dental, and children’s health services.
  • Online Fee Lookup. This page will allow you to lookup the fee schedules for Texas Medicaid, Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Family Planning Program, (DSHS) Primary Health Care Program, (DSHS) Expanded Primary Health Care Program and the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program. Users can search for fee information for specific codes. To use a general fee schedule, Medicaid providers can click Static Fee Schedules.
  • Federal Medicaid Re-enrollment or Re-verification. Texas Medicaid must comply with federal regulations which require all providers to revalidate their enrollment information every three to five years. In accordance with this mandate, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) require that states complete the initial re-enrollment of all providers by March 24, 2016. For Texas Medicaid, any provider enrolled before January 1, 2013, must be fully re-enrolled by March 24, 2016. Providers can begin this process immediately.
  • TMHP Learning Management System (LMS). The TMHP LMS is available to all providers and includes computer-based-training (CBT) documents, webinars, and provider workshop materials. To access the LMS, providers must register and obtain a username. Click here to access the “How to register for the LMS” job aid. The LMS allows providers to: View the course catalog; Enroll in courses; View enrollments; View LMS Resources


Community Attendant Services (CAS)
Community Living Assistance & Support Services (CLASS)
Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities (DBMD
Family Care (FC)
Home and Community-based Services (HCS)
Medically Dependent Children's Program (MDCP
Primary Home Care (PHC
Star + Plus
Star Kids
Community First Choice (CFC) HHS


Applying to become a Licensed Home & Community

   Support Services Agency (HCSSA)
Applying to become a Hospice Agency
Applying for a Renewal Application
Applying for an Alternate Delivery Site License
Change of Agency Information
Change of Ownership (CHOW)
Computer Based Training
Electronic Visit Verification (EVV)
Emergency Preparedness
Program Staff - HHSC
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program (
OASIS Resources

Provider (PL) and Information Letters (IL)

Provider Survey and Certification Letters (S&C)

Provider State Survey and Certification Clarification Memos (S&CC)

Regional Survey and Certification Letters (RS&C)
Training Requirements